Week of January 3, 2017

screen-shot-2016-12-14-at-11-42-57-am

Dear Staff,

Happy New Year!  Welcome back, we hope that you all enjoyed some time to recharge with your family and friends over the break.  A new year provides us with a time to reflect on things we have done in the past and and start over with new ideas and new beginnings.  For the past few months I have been giving a lot of thought to the idea of creating maker spaces in our classrooms.  Back in the fall I walked into Barnes and Noble and Cannon School had set up a Maker Faire throughout the store.  I totally became intrigued.  Students K-12 were sharing their tinkerings with kids and adults and I was totally blown away!  Some of the things they shared were very simplistic such as building with Legos all the way up to a robotics showcase.  You could tell that each of the kids were engaged in whatever it was he/she had created and I could tell that one of the reasons this happened was because of their dynamo teacher bouncing around the store.  He was like a bolt of energy and the students were drawn to him like a magnet.  Yet, the students were independent in what they had done and you could tell that their creations were all very kid centered and kid created.  I was totally hooked!  I want this type of learning for our students at CSD!  This is the cream of the crop education that all students should be exposed to.  I have a lot of learning to do about makerspace and I would love for you to learn along with me.  I ordered lots of different books on this topic, I would love to go to Cannon School and see this in action and meet with the teachers there and see how they do this in their classrooms, and my ultimate goal would be how can we create makerspaces in all of our classrooms at CSD?  If this is something that interests you I would love to form a group of us who would research this and work together to bring this back to the staff, because I do believe it is an area that we can grow in (the whole idea of STEM/STEAM).  I know it can feel overwhelming and you may feel like how can I add one more thing to my plate? However,  I really think that this can be done in a way that actively engages students so that it cuts down on behavior problems in your classrooms, challenges your highly gifted students, engages students who may not be that interested in “typical” school and is exciting to teach!  If this is something that you think you might be interested in learning more about please let me know, as I believe this is important work and our kids deserve nothing but the very best!  I have included a link below if you would like to read more about this topic.  Remember, new year’s bring about new change…you never know where you may end up 365 days from now!  Have a fantastic first week back!

Leslie

http://www.scholastic.com/browse/article.jsp?id=3758336

Week At A Glance:

Tuesday, Jan 3rd
Classes Resume
Parent Advisory at 7:30 at HS
Wednesday, Jan 4th
K7 Staff Meeting-Annual Safety Meeting – 3:30
Thursday, Jan 5th
Final Spelling Bee (grades 3-8) – MS Black Box – 9:00 a.m.
Friday, January 6th
Elementary Spirit Friday

Upcoming Dates:

Jan 10th – K-7 Lottery Open House 9:15 a.m. and 6:30 p.m.
Jan 16th – MLK Day Holiday–NO School
Jan 19th – K-7 Lottery Open House 9:15 a.m. and 6:30 p.m.
Jan 25th – Fresh Take Day of Observation
Jan 26th – Teacher Workday; Fresh Take Parent Speaker
Jan 27th – Fresh Take Conference; No School for Students
Feb 1st – K-7 Staff Meeting 9 Essentials Love and Logic®
Feb 2nd – Groundhog Day
Feb 3rd – Elementary Spirit Friday

Leave a Reply

